

Eligible Partner Countries for Applications to the Swiss Programme for International Research by Scientific Investigation Teams (SPIRIT)



1 Provisions

The Regulations on the Swiss Programme for International Research by Scientific Investigation Teams (SPIRIT Regulations) of 14 August 2018 stipulate that at least one of the applicants must come from a partner country (article 7).

The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) determines the eligible partner countries on the basis of the <u>list of official development assistance recipients established by the OECD Development Assistance Committee</u>. There are exceptions, which are elaborated on below.

1.1 Eligible partner countries

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Mongolia, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, West Bank and Gaza Strip, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe are eligible as partner countries. (123 countries)

1.2 Non-eligible countries

According to the SPIRIT Regulations, the following countries are not eligible as partner countries:

- a) member countries of the European Union;
- countries associated to the 8th Research and Innovation Framework Programme of the European Union (2014-2020) "Horizon 2020" and forthcoming framework programmes;
- c) countries participating in a bilateral call with the SNSF.

Hence, researchers in the following countries may not submit a SPIRIT application together with researchers from Switzerland, even if they appear on the list of official development assistance recipients established by the OECD Development Assistance Committee.

1.2.1 Member countries of the European Union

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden are not eligible as partner countries. (27 countries)



1.2.2 Countries associated to the 8th Research and Innovation Framework Programme of the European Union (2014-2020) "Horizon 2020" and forthcoming framework programmes

Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, Serbia, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, and United Kingdom are not eligible as partner countries. (17 countries)

1.2.3 Countries participating in a bilateral call with the SNSF

Brazil, China, India, Japan, Russia, South Africa, South Korea, and Viet Nam are not eligible as partner countries. (8 countries)

1.2.4 Iran

As it is currently not possible to transfer funding to Iran, researchers in Iran may not submit a SPIRIT application together with researchers from Switzerland.