SNSF Research Council: three new members elected


The Executive Committee of the SNSF Foundation Council has elected three new members of the Research Council.

​The National Research Council is responsible for the evaluation of research proposals and for funding decisions. It is composed of up to 100 members at any one time, all of whom are leading researchers in their field. The new members are:

Mathematics, Natural and Engineering Sciences division

  • Jean-François Molinari, EPF Lausanne, for engineering sciences (takes up office on 1 October 2019)

He will be responsible for engineering sciences (byelection due to withdrawal of person elected in December).

Biology and Medicine division

  • Isabelle Schmitt-Opitz, University of Zurich, for clinical and translational research (takes up office on 1 April 2019)
  • Peter Scheiffele, University of Basel, for cellular and molecular neurobiology (takes up office on 1 October 2019)

They replace the outgoing members Beatrice Beck Schimmer (clinical and translational research) and Hanns Ulrich Zeilhofer (cellular and molecular neurobiology).

National Research Council of the SNSF


Executive Staff