Research Council: two new members elected

As of 1 October 2022, Kirsten Bomblies and Thomas Flatt will join the Biology and Medicine division of the Research Council.

The National Research Council evaluates project proposals submitted by researchers in Switzerland and selects the best ones for funding. It is composed of a maximum of 100 leading scientists, who work on an honorary basis. Members are elected by the Executive Committee of the SNSF Foundation Council.

The two new members of the Research Council's Biology and Medicine division are:

  • Kirsten Bomblies, ETH Zurich, for plant sciences (as of 1 October 2022)
  • Thomas Flatt, University of Freiburg, for evolutionary/behavioural biology and ecology (as of 1 October 2022)

They replace Beat Keller (plant sciences) and Hanna Kokko (evolutionary/behavioural biology and ecology).