General election of the National Research Council for the period 2016-19

Piktogramm Wahlen mit der Silhouette von vier Personen

At the end of 2015, the four-year term of office of the National Research Council will come to an end. For this reason, the SNSF has conducted general elections for the Research Council and ten new members have being elected as a result.

​The Executive Committee of the Foundation Council is responsible for electing members of the SNSF Research Council. The general election for the 2016-2019 term of office was held during a Committee meeting at the beginning of September.

Re-elections and new elections

The general election includes re-elections and new elections:

  • Re-election: current members of the National Research Council can be re-elected for the 2016-2019 term of office. The period of office of each member is limited to eight years.
  • New elections: by-elections in which new replacement members are elected on the same date as the general elections

In total, 85 research councillors were re-elected. In addition, the following ten researchers were newly elected as members of the Research Council:

Humanities and Social Sciences division

  • Roberto Caldara, University of Fribourg, profile: general psychology
  • Jörg Rössel, University of Zurich, profile: social research and methodology
  • Peter Auer, University of Freiburg, profile: linguistics (focusing on German and English studies)

Mathematics, Natural and Engineering Sciences division

  • Rémi Abgrall, University of Zurich, profile: applied mathematics/modelling
  • Paul Dyson, EPFL, profile: chemistry

Biology and Medicine division

  • Matthias Peter, ETH Zurich, profile: biochemistry
  • Cem Gabay, Hôpitaux Universitaire de Genève, profile: clinician – immunology
  • Adrian Ochsenbein, University of Bern, profile: clinician
  • Dominique De Quervain, University of Basel, profile: cognitive sciences – psychiatry/neurosciences

Programmes division

  • Anna Fontcuberta i Morral, EPFL, profile: material sciences (physics/chemistry)
  • National Research Council of the SNSF