WEF 2020 in Davos: SNSF panel discussion with high-ranking experts

During the WEF, the SNSF will host a public talk among others with: Nobel laureate Didier Queloz, IBM fellow Alessandro Curioni and ERC president Mauro Ferrari.

On 23 January 2020, from 11:00 to 13:00, the SNSF will host a public talk at the House of Switzerland, that will bring together the viewpoints of government research funders and private sector researchers. The SNSF is organising the event in collaboration with its partner Presence Switzerland. The panel discussion will be held in the context of the World Economic Forum (WEF) in Davos and will feature panelists of high standing. The event is open to the public, everyone with an interest in international research cooperation is invited to attend.

Host Matthias Egger, president of the National Research Council, is looking forward to discussing the following question with guests from Switzerland and abroad:

What kind of global research cooperation
is necessary to produce the innovations
that society needs most?

The panel will consist of the following high-ranking experts:

  • Didier Queloz, astronomer and 2019 physics Nobel laureate. He discovered the first exoplanet together with his thesis supervisor, Michel Mayor. Many of Didier Queloz's projects have been funded by the SNSF.
  • Alessandro Curioni, IBM Fellow, Vice President Europe and Africa, director of the IBM Research Lab in Zurich. He is in charge of basic research on the computer of the future. He is also the co-author of recommendations for a Swiss artificial intelligence strategy.
  • Mauro Ferrari, president of the European Research Council (ERC); he will take up his new role as of 1 January 2020, during an important phase in the ERC’s development.
  • Lene B. Oddershede, Head of Natural and Technical Sciences and Interdisciplinarity at the Novo Nordisk Foundation. She is also the Center Leader of the Danish National Research Foundation Center for Stem Cell Decision Making (StemPhys), a Center of Excellence of the Danish National Research Foundation. In 2015, she received the EliteForsk (Elite Research) Prize, awarded annually by the Ministry of Higher Education and Science to five Danish researchers at an exceptional international level and younger than 45 years old.

This informal research summit will also feature a buffet lunch offered by the SNSF. The event will take place in the Crystal Lounge of the House of Switzerland. For more information, please follow the link below.