Three women elected into SNSF Research Council

The Executive Committee of the SNSF Foundation Council has elected three women researchers as new members of the Research Council.

The National Research Council is responsible for evaluating research proposals and making funding decisions. It can have up to 100 members, all of whom are leading researchers in their field. The new members are:

Humanities and Social Sciences division

  • Claudia Mareis, University of Applied Sciences (FHNW), for arts (takes up office on 1 January 2018)
  • Eszter Hargittai, University of Zurich, for communication and media studies (takes up office on 1 April 2018)

They replace Corina Caduff (arts) and Peter Schulz (communication and media studies).

Mathematics, Natural and Engineering Sciences division

  • Ulrike Lohmann, ETH Zurich, for environmental sciences (takes up office on 1 October 2018)

She replaces Urs Baltensperger (environmental sciences).

National Research Council of the SNSF