Swiss Science Prize Latsis

Lesya Shchutska is the Prize winner in 2023

Physicist Lesya Shchutska, EPFL professor and winner of the Swiss Science Prize Latsis 2023, is paving the way for the discovery of new particles.

Independent research of high quality

Worth 100,000 Swiss francs, the Swiss Science Prize Latsis – formerly National Latsis Prize – rewards researchers up to the age of 40 for outstanding achievements in basic science. Their work must be distinguished by a high degree of independence and scientific quality.

The SNSF awards the prize annually on behalf of the Latsis Foundation of Geneva. The winner is chosen by the National Research Council.

  • Prize winners since 1984

    Dropdown Icon


    Prize winner

    Domain of research

    ​2022 Kerstin Vokingerlaw, medicine and technology
    ​2021 Nicola AcetoMolecular oncology
    ​2020 Maryna ViazovskaMathematics
    ​2019 Dominik HangartnerPolitical scientist
    ​2018 Andrea AblasserImmunology
    ​2017 Xile HuChemical catalysis
    ​2016Alexander Keese​African history, decolonisation, forced labour
    ​2015Richard Benton ​Neurobiology of olfaction
    ​2014Tobias J. Kippenberg​Physics: quantum optomechanics
    ​2013​David Sander​Affective science
    2012Jacques FellayGenomics: defence mechanisms against viruses
    ​2011​Karl Gademann​Chemistry and biology: isolation and synthesis of natural materials
    ​2010​Marianne SommerHistory of science: exploring the life sciences
    ​2009​Mirjam Christ Crain​Medicine: biological stress caused by infectious diseases
    ​2008 ​Franz PfeifferX-ray technology
    ​2007​Giuliano Bonoli​Political science: role of the welfare state in Europe
    ​2006​Michael HengartnerMolecular biology: study of a model organism, a worm called Caenorhabditis elegans
    ​2005​Patrick JennyEngineering sciences: computer simulations of complex fluid systems in nature and technology
    ​2004​Simon Gächter ​Empirical economics: cooperative behaviour
    ​2003​Silvia ArberNeurobiology: neuronal circuit formation in the developing spinal cord
    ​2002​Jérôme FaistSolid state physics: quantum cascade laser (QCL)
    ​2001​Lorenza MondadaInteractional linguistics
    ​2000 ​Laurent Keller​Evolutionary ecology: ant behaviour
    ​1999​Frédéric MerktChemical physics of molecules: spectroscopie and dynamics of atoms and molecules in electronically charged states
    ​1998 Peter Schaber​​Ethics, applied ethics and environmental ethics
    ​1997 ​Konrad BaslerZoology/developmental biology (drosophila fly)
    ​1996 ​Martin VetterliAudiovisual technology of the future: wavelet theory in communication
    ​1995​Astrid Epiney​Human rights and international environmenal law
    ​1994​Denis Duboule​Developmental biology and genetics
    ​1993​Thomas StockerClimate and environmental physics: the role of the oceans in climate change
    ​1992​Maria Christina PitassiHistory of theology and philosophy in the 17th and 18th century
    ​1991Susan Margaret Gasser-Wilson​Cell biology: the role of nucleus proteins in organising and passing on genetic information
    ​1990​Goeffrey BodenhausenNuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR)
    ​1989​Anne-Nelly Perret-ClermontSocial psychology and educational sciences
    ​1988​Paul Schmid-HempelBehavioural ecology
    ​1987​John Paul Maier​Physical chemistry: spectroscopic methods for analysing the properties of ionised molecules
    ​1986​Ulrich Kohli​Economics: analysis of international trade
    ​1985 ​Otto Albrecht Haller​Virology: resistence to flu viruses
    ​1984​Jürg FröhlichMathematical physics; quantum theory
  • Swiss Science Prize Latsis award ceremony

    Dropdown Icon